# COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT REORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES DECEMBER 4, 2014 - 6:00 PM 9/10 CENTER AUDITORIUM

#### **District Mission Statement**

The Mission of the Coatesville Area School District, a learning community rich in diversity and committed to excellence, is to educate all students by providing rigorous educational opportunities to become responsible, productive, life-long learners in a global society.

### 1. CALL TO ORDER AT 6:15 P.M.

# 2. ADVISEMENT

This meeting was called for the reorganization of the School Board under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania as amended. Public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. By notice of the Board Secretary, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes.

### 3. ROLL CALL

#### **Board of School Directors**

James L. Fox, Vice President – present
Diane M. Brownfield – present
Stuart C. Deets – present
James Hills – present
Laurie C. Knecht – present
Michele S. Maffei – present
Dean A. Snyder – present
Deborah L. Thompson – present

### **Solicitor**

Michael I. Levin, Esquire - not present

### Administration

Dr. Cathy Taschner, Superintendent of Schools - present

Dr. Angelo Romaniello, Jr., Assistant to the Superintendent - absent

Dr. Kimberly R. Donahue, Assistant to the Superintendent for Curriculum & Learning - absent

Ronald G. Kabonick, Director of Business Administration | School Board Secretary – present

Erika Zeigler, Director of Human Resources - present

Abdallah Hawa, Director of Technology - absent

John Reid, Director of Pupil Services/Data & Assessment – present

Dave Krakower, Director of High School & Curriculum Instruction | Special Education (6-12) - absent

Dr. Teresa Powell, Director of Middle School Education & Curriculum Instruction - absent

Jason Palaia, Director of Elementary Education (3-5) | Special Education (K-5) - absent

#### 4. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND FLAG SALUTE

# 5. SCHOOL BOARD REORGANIZATION (Board Secretary)

## Reading of the List of Legally Elected and/or Qualified School Directors:

**Region I** (Coatesville, Valley) Diane M. Brownfield

James Hills

Deborah L. Thompson

Region II (West Brandywine, Caln) Stuart C. Deets

Dean A. Snyder

(Vacant)

**Region III** (East Fallowfield, Modena, James L. Fox

Sadsbury, West Caln, Laurie C. Knecht South Coatesville) Michele S. Maffei

# 6. REVIEW OF VOTING PROCEDURES

Mr. Fox reviewed the voting procedures.

# 7. <u>ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT</u>

Nominations were entertained for election of a temporary president.

Stuart Deets moved to nominate Deborah Thompson for Temporary President. Laurie Knecht seconded the nomination.

A motion was made by Jim Fox, and seconded by Laurie Knecht, that nominations for temporary president be closed.

Deborah Thompson took the chair.

### 8. <u>ELECTION OF OFFICERS</u>

## A. PRESIDENT

Temporary President Thompson asked for nominations for President for the year 2015.

Nominations for President:

- Laurie Knecht nominated Dean Snyder
- James Hills nominated Deborah Thompson
- Deborah Thompson declined the nomination
- Diane Brownfield nominated James Fox

A motion was made by Jim Fox, and seconded by Laurie Knecht, that nominations for president be closed.

On a 5-3 vote in favor of Dean Snyder, Temporary President Thompson relinquished the chair to the newly elected School Board President for 2015, Mr. Dean Snyder.

# **B.** VICE PRESIDENT

President Snyder asked for nominations for Vice President for the year 2015.

Nominations for Vice President:

- Laurie Knecht nominated Stuart Deets
- Diane Brownfield nominated James Hills
- James Hills declined the nomination
- Laurie Knecht nominated Diane Brownfield
- Diane Brownfield declined the nomination

A motion was made by Deborah Thompson, and seconded by Michele Maffei, that the nominations for Vice President be closed.

On a unanimous roll call vote, Stuart Deets was elected as the Vice President for 2015.

# 9. **BOARD MEMBERS REMARKS**

Each board member was given the opportunity to speak publically about their goals and initiatives in the upcoming year.

### 10. PUBLIC BOARD MEETING DATES

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors approve the Public School Board Meetings for 2015 be advertised as per the attachment. (*Enclosure*)

In accordance with School Board Policy #006, adopted September 27, 2001 and revised on May 23, 2002 and October 19, 2004, all Board Members and the District Superintendent shall be advised of the dates and times for the scheduled public Committee and Board meetings.

# **BOARD MEETINGS**

# **COMMITTEE MEETINGS**

January 27, 2015
February 24, 2015
March 24, 2015
April 28, 2015
May 26, 2015
June 23, 2015
July 28, 2015
August 25, 2015
September 22, 2015
October 27, 2015
November 24, 2015
December 1, 2015

January 13, 2015 February 10, 2015 March 10, 2015 April 14, 2015 May 12, 2015 June 9, 2015

No Committee Meetings in July

August 11, 2015 September 8, 2015 October 13, 2015 November 10, 2015

No committee meetings in December

## Friendly Amendment:

**RECOMMENDED MOTION**: That the Board of School Directors add July 28, 2015 to the Official Public School Board Meeting Schedule for 2015.

Motion: Dean Snyder Second: Deborah Thompson Vote: 8-0-0

Original Motion with Addition:

Motion: Diane Brownfield Second: Jim Fox Vote: 8-0-0

# 11. PUBLIC COMMENT

The Board has requested all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

None

# 12. ADJOURNMENT

This meeting was adjourned at 6:42 p.m. on a motion by Diane Brownfield and seconded by Jim Fox.

Respectfully submitted,
Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary

Ronald G. Kabonick, School Board Secretary

Anyone wishing to review the minutes verbatim should contact the Board Secretary to request a copy of the digital/audio file.